Playing Copycat

I have been having both extreme fun and extreme stress this week. I would love to tell you all about what has been going on, but alas, I have decided that I am too busy watching Harry Potter and eating Scream Sorbet’s Hazelnut Chocolate to be able to write up a post.

Sorry, I’m not sorry!

So rather than not share anything with y’all, I’m just going to be a copycat and hop on the meme bandwagon, once again!

Hope you all are having a fabulous start to your weekend!!

Alexa, A to Z:

A. Age: 28…gah! I only have 15 months of my twenties left! Help me!! I’m old!!

B. Bed size: Full-sized futon. I bought a futon when I moved into my apartment 2 years ago because it is a studio. I figured that I could put it up into a couch during the day time.

Fact: I have only put it up three times since I bought it in March of 2009. I should have bought a bed.

C. Chore you dislike: I have to be honest. I hate almost ALL chores. I am a terrible homemaker. I don’t like cleaning. I only started to appreciate cooking in the last couple of years. I guess my least favorite chores are laundry and the dishes.

D. Dogs: Yes, please! I love dogs! Sadly, I have none. Too hard to have a dog in San Francisco when you’re a renter…hardly any landlords allow them. I do have a cat, Cosette (Known as Cosie) and I’m temporarily sheltering my sister’s cat, Daniel Striped Tiger. For the record though, I’ve lived with two dogs in my life: I lived with Onyx, my sister’s dog, for 6 years when we shared an apartment. We also had a dog when I lived with my Mom. My mom found her abandoned in a parking lot. We didn’t want to get attached, so we didn’t name her. Instead, we just called her ‘Puppy’. We had Puppy for over a year before we managed to find her a permanent home. Oops. So much for not getting attached!

E. Essential start to your day: Coffee and a shower. I am nothing without coffee, and I never leave my house without showering.

F. Favorite color: Oh. That’s tough. When I was 5, my favorite color was yellow. When I was 9, it was purple. When I was 13, it was green.  These days, I don’t much do with favorite colors. I have made an effort to adjust to pink though. As a kid, I refused to have anything to do with pink, as it annoyed me that as a girl, I was expected to like the color. I’ve since decided that pink can be pretty awesome.

G. Gold or silver: Silver. Gold just ain’t my thing.

H. Height: 5’5.5″ — My driver’s license says 5’6″, but really, I’m a 1/2 inch shorter.

I. Instruments you play(ed): I played clarinet regularly for 8 years. I also played tenor saxophone for a few years and bass clarinet for one or two semesters. I also dabbled in flute, viola and piano.

J. Job title: Well, technically my job title is ‘Operations Manager’. Sounds unbelievably exciting, doesn’t it? No? Yeah, it isn’t. I hope someday to be able to say my job title is ‘Writer’….or ‘Independently Wealthy World Traveler’…you know, whichever….

K. Kids: Goats are awesome. Always my favorites at the petting zoo….

L. Live: San Francisco, CA, USA.

M. Mom’s name: Bobbie.

N. Nicknames: Lex (hate this), Alley, Lou (only my sister calls me that), Nevada (inside joke from an epic gambling adventure in 2005), Triple A (initials)…..mostly people just call me by my name though.

O. Overnight hospital stays: Never, and I hope to always be able to say this.

P. Pet peeves: People who don’t pull their own weight. People who ALWAYS have to be right, even when they’re not. People who sit directly next to me on the bus when EVERY other seat is free. People who talk loudly on their cell phone while on the bus. People who have stereos on their motorcycles and play really god awful music, forcing everyone else to be subjected to afore mentioned god awful music. People who don’t read signs and then ask really stupid questions. People who have to put their kids on a leash to keep track of them…hello, they’re human children, not dogs….if you can’t keep track of them, don’t have them!

Really, if you haven’t noticed the trend, I think I’m just peeved by people in general. *cough*

Q. Quote from a movie: Willy Wonka (Gene Wilder): If the good Lord had intended us to walk, he wouldn’t have invented roller skates.

R. Righty or lefty: Righty. Though I have been told by my sister that when I was a baby I favored my left hand, and since she decided that using your left hand was wrong, she trained me to use my right hand. I have no recollection of this. My sister says a lot of things…

S. Siblings: Laura, 40, half-sister. Laura is 12 years older than me, and despite our technical “half-sister” status, we never refer to each other as such. It’s always just “my sister…” with us.

T. Time you wake up: It varies. I work both day shifts and night shifts at my job. Between 6:30am and 7am on day shift days, then on night shift days, I usually just wake up naturally. Probably around 8 or 9am.

U. Underwear: Absolutely!

V. Vegetables you dont’ like: Beets. I keep trying and trying and trying, but I just don’t like them!

W. What makes you run late: Everything. I am physically and mentally incapable of being on time. Even when I’m up several hours early, I can’t manage to get out of the apartment on time.

X. X-rays you’ve had: Teeth…tons of times. Just got new ones because I’m going to have oral surgery for severely impacted wisdom teeth in March. So NOT looking forward to that. I also had my hand x-rayed a couple of years ago when I started having chronic pain and swelling in the first joint of my left index finger. Turns out I have psoriatic arthritis in my digits. Oh lucky, lucky me. Regular psoriasis just wasn’t enough for me…I had to go ALL out!

Y. Yummy food you make: Pancakes. I freaking love pancakes. And oatmeal. And baked onion rings. Not all at the same time, of coursse.

Z. Zoo animal favorites: PENGUINS!! Penguins RULE!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in life, ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Playing Copycat

  1. I love penguins and hate beets too 🙂

  2. Jess says:

    I am 5’5 and a half too! hehe.

    • girlinchucks says:

      People totally look at me weird when I say that! That’s why I usually just say 5’5″ or 5’6″. Problem is that I hate rounding down because darn it, I want to be taller, so I’m not going to give back a half inch…but I hate rounding up, as that feels like cheating. 😉

  3. elaine! says:

    PENGUINS!!! Hell yes, sister!

    I like “Lou” because as soon as I read “Lex” I thought “Lex Luthor.” Muahaha.

    • girlinchucks says:

      Penguins are hella sweet.

      Yeah…I hate Lex because of the Lex Luthor connection. -_-

      I don’t really like Lou either. When I was a really tiny kid, my mom used to call me, “Leckie-Lou”. She stopped when I was like…4 or 5, so I don’t really think of it as my nickname. My sister, however, is 12 years older than me and moved out of the house when she was 17 and I was 5…so she never broke the habit….or at least not in her head. I didn’t see her much except for the holidays while growing up, so when I moved in with her at 21 and she started screaming, “Hey Lou, do you want pizza?!” down the hallway, I had NO idea who she was talking to at first! 😉

  4. Maddie Essig says:

    I am also incapable of being on time. It’s hereditary. I’ve found a way around it though…the Boyfriend’s family is always way later than me, so as far as they can tell, I’m always early! 😉

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s